Hello Tata Indicom


A few sunsets back I had written about how Tata Indicom’s world class service had managed to get on my good side! Devil As fate would have it, I am currently left with no option but to shift back to my favorite ISP, which is kinda becoming somewhat of a pet peeve or probably has already become!

Since I need to subscribe to a new connection, I went online and tried to use the “Apply Now” link for a new Tata Photon Plus connection which gave me the following error:

image

This error has been on the site for the past 6 hours which leads me to believe that their alert mechanism is either quite poor or their Web Admins have taken the Sunday Off. Hoping that it’s the latter! Not sure if you want to expose your Error reports to the external user! (Bad code abstraction logic or lazy developers)

Back to the point…. I then picked up the numbers listed on their Contact Us link and contacted their helpline numbers. And that is when my 6X15 relay started. After talking to about 6 different service representatives for more than 10 minutes and being on hold patiently and humoring the IVR, I was given a toll-free number (1-800-266-121) which apparently would let me apply for a Broadband connection. Well my elation was shortlived because after talking to a service rep, he told me that their server was currently down due to which he wouldn’t be able to provide me with any details. I was then provided with another toll-free sales number which is supposed to be 24X7 but no one decided to pick up on the other end. I guess Sunday means no-work day!

One of the funny things was that all the service representatives stressed on the fact that the number they were providing me with in my relay (dialing) race was “toll-free” but I don’t really care if I need to pay for a 15-minute call to get my work done. But apparently a lot of importance is given for setting up toll-free numbers rather than actually providing the correct number that needs to be called to get the work done!!

Hopefully Monday will be a better day! Maybe the great Indian “jugaad” will come into play here! Winking smile

Posted on December 5, 2010, in Computers and Internet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Dear Customer

    Greetings from Tata Indicom! We thank you for considering Tata Indicom.

    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform that the “Apply Now” page is working fine now, you can apply for new connection through the same or you can also send us your contact details along with your address, we will arrange for a sales visit to your premises immediately.

    Please mail us at Customer.care@tatatel.co.in.

    Thanks and Regards
    Customer Care
    Tata Indicom.

Leave a Reply

